On this Christmas Eve
As I sit and contemplate
The gifts I’ve bought
I think more about
The ones I’ll leave

The gifts I can give you
That don’t come in a bag
No ribbons, wrapping
Or ridiculous little bows
Just the little things
I’ve gotten to know

And if tomorrow forbid
I should have to go
I’d want you to hear
All these gifts I share
And for you to know
Without doubt
Just how much I care

So to you my loves
It’s my soul I bare
So here’s what I dare
To come out and say:

Ignore those quotes
That tell you not to care
What others think
Because sweethearts
You should remember
About those you love
Even those you don’t

Ignoring their words
Won’t make you above
But will hold you in
So remember
who you are
Seek to see the world

From everyone’s eyes
Hear their various cries
Sometimes hurtful lies

Seek the truth
Not just as you see it
But as it truly is

Be true to yourself
And heed these words
With love from me
Because dear ones
I can see
Who you can be

Potential in every inch
Of beautiful hearts
Made so in innocence
Of youth

Where life’s truth
So much easier to see
Being yourself
So much easier to be

Please don’t lose that
Hold it tight
In inevitable night
Not just in brilliant light

And most of all
No matter how hard
Always try to do
What’s right

And remember this smile
Across any stretch
Of any mile
From my face
To wherever you are

